Spider Monkey

what is taxonomy?

Taxonomy is the 7 levels of classifying an organism. Those seven levels include: kingdom, phylum, class, order, genus, and species.

Taxonomic Levels of A Nicaraguan Spider Monkey

Kingdom: Animalia; they are multicellular, eukaryotic organisms. All animals must injest other organisms or their products for sustenance.

Phylum: Chordata; animals possessing a notochord, a hollow dorsal nerve cord, pharyngeal slits, an endostyle and a post-anal tail for at least some period of their life cycles.

Class: Mammalia; this means that this monkey is a warm blooded animal.

Order: Primates; arose from ancestors that lived in the trees of tropical forests.

Family: Atelidae; one of the five families of NEW WORLD MOKEYS. found throughout the forested regions of central and south America.

Genus: Ateles; the genus contains seven species all which are under threat.

Where is the spider monkey located?

Spider Monkeys live in tropical climates, specifically the evergreen forests of Central and South America. They can also be found as far north as Mexico.

Interesting Facts

-The size of a spider monkey depends on the species. Some spider reach 13.25 pounds in weight and 2 feet in length and 3-5 feet in height.

- Spider monkeys do not have a thumb, they have four fingers that are curved and look like a hook which is to help them adapt to the life in the forest.

-They use different sounds for communication, sometimes they bark when they are threatened.

- These animals can only survive 22 to 25 years in the wild and up to 35 years in captivity.

Comment Stream