Online Tools for Remediation & Enrichment

Bellwork- (5 min)

  • Login to Edmodo and join the Technology PD 14-15 group code: 84aic7
  • Click on Folders – Click on Online Tools for Remediation & Enrichment
  • If you do not have an Edmodo account - click the following link to view the shared folder - https://edmodo.com/folder/4543175

Overview/Objectives:

  • Teachers will explore a variety of Online Differentiated Instructional Programs that provide individual student data and can be used for remediation and enrichment
  • Teachers will explore resources aligned to standards/skills to use as additional learning tools for remediation and enrichment
  • Teachers will explore resources with whole class lessons, teaching strategies, lesson plans to assist with remediation and enrichment
  • Teachers will share/explore ideas for how to incorporate technology for students needing enrichment or remediation.

Task1 – Introduction – Why do we need R & E Resources? (15 min)

Task 2 – Exploration - What programs can we use for Remediation & Enrichment?

Moby Max   www.mobymax.com   K-8
Math, Language, Writing, Vocabulary & more

Identify deficits and mastery. Create assignments

Learnzillion   www.learnzillion.com  2-12
Math/ELA - Lesson plans, videos, & resources –

Create classes/assignment

Power My Learning  www.powermylearning.org  K-12
All Subjects - Games, activities, videos.  Build Classes/Monitor Assignments

Khan Academy  www.khanacademy.com
Mostly math for elementary - Videos & interactive lessons

Ten Marks   www.tenmarks.com  1-12
Math - Reinforce classroom instruction and build fluency.

Brain Pop/Brain Pop Jr.   www.brainpop.com  K-8
All Subjects - Additional resources – Activities, Q & A, games, lessons, etc.

IXL   www.ixl.com  K-12
Math/ELA - practice materials in math and language arts.

Internet4Classrooms K-5   http://www.internet4classrooms.com/grade_level_help.htm  
Grade Level online resources by skill/standard – all subjects

Campbell County Tech Curriculum K-6     http://web.ccsd.k12.wy.us/techcurr/index.html All subjects - Technology Resources – listed by grade/standard-  App Resources

K-8 Math Remediation Sites  K-8
http://www.bataviacsd.org/m/content.cfm?subpage=3674    Links to remediation resources for Math

Read Write Think Student Interactives  http://www.readwritethink.org/search/?resource_type=16  K-12  
Literacy Learning -Interactive Tools for Online

PBS Kids Lab - http://pbskids.org/lab/  Ages 3-8  
All Subjects Games, Activities, Videos to keep kids learning.

Sheppard Software-  www.sheppardsoftware.com  PreK-5  
All Subjects - hundreds of educational quizzes, games, articles, activities, and other types of free materials-

Britannica Learning Zone   http://archive.school.eb.com/learningzone/welcome  PreK-2nd
Interactive activities – all topics

BBC Interactive - http://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/ks2/english/
Online interactives – reading, math, and science

PreKinders - http://www.prekinders.com/learning-areas/  
PreK  - Blog for activities and lessons plans-

Get Ready To Read - http://www.getreadytoread.org/  PreK
Free Early Learning Resources

Reading Rockets - http://www.readingrockets.org/

Teaching Strategies - Information and resources on how young kids learn to read, why so many struggle, and how we can help  -best app resources

FCRR Student CenterActivities  http://www.fcrr.org/curriculum/studentCenterActivities.shtm  K-5
Reading - Independent Student Center Activities -

iPads in the Classroom - Apps  https://sites.google.com/a/ccsd1schools.net/ipads-in-the-classroom/recommended-apps  K-12
App Resources

Task 3 – Ideas for using incorporating into our classrooms?

Review/Closure (5-10 min)