The Dominican Republic

Capitol: Santo Domingo

Population: 10,349,741

The Dominican Republic is the 2nd largest country in the Caribbean. It shares the island of Hispaniola with Haiti. The Dominican Republic takes up 2/3's of the island.

Land Features

The Dominican Republic has varied terrain from savannah to rain forests and highlands to lowlands.

80% of the Dominican Republic is mountainous.

The highest mountain peak in Caribbean is located in the Dominican Republic and is called Pico Duarte.

The central mountain range that goes through the Dominican Republic is called Cordillera Central.

Lake Enriquillo is the largest lake in the Dominican Republic and is also the lowest spot in the Dominican Republic at 150.9 feet below sea level.

The longest river is called the Yaque del Norte and it's 185 miles long.


Along the southern and eastern coasts it is generally hot and humid.

Temperatures average above 90°F during the summer months, August being the hottest.

The rainy season generally runs December-March.

During the rainy season temperatures drop into the 70's.

The Dominican Republic is apart of the Atlantic Hurricane Season, which is a season of when hurricanes normally develop in the Atlantic Ocean.

Hurricane season begins in June and ends in November.

Human Environment Interactions

70% of businesses and residents pollute the water each day just by drainage.

The effects of mining along with industrial and agricultural sources are polluting the water everyday.

The deforestation rate is down from the 1990's.

The main natural resources in the Dominican Republic are: nickel, gold, silver, and arable land.


In 1492 Christopher Columbus discovers the island and names it Hispaniola.

Then in 1808 Spain takes control of the island and names it Santo Domingo. Spain declares independence of Santo Domingo in 1821.

Jean Pierre Boyer was overthrown in 1844 and Santo Domingo declares independence as The Dominican Republic

The President of the Dominican Republic now is Danilo Medina

The Dominican republic has a representative democracy  divided into 31 provinces.

The president and the vice president are elected by popular vote and they both serve a four year term. The president is both head of state and head of government.  

It has a bicameral national congress of 32 senators and 183 deputies they are also elected by popular vote.

The Dominican Republics national anthem.


Comment Stream