Biology 1st Period

       The Taxonomy of  Whitetail Deer
                          By Tyler Sherrod

What is taxonomy?

Taxonomy is the study of classifying organisms. There are 7 levels of taxonomy. The 7 levels of taxonomy are kingdom, phylum, class, order, family, genus, species. Each organism is named by their genus and species.

Taxonomy of a Whitetail Deer

Kingdom: Animalia- Animals are multicellular, eukaryotic organisms. Their body plan becomes fixed as they develop, although some undergo metamorphosis later in life.

Phylum: Chordata- Animals that process a notochord, a hollow dorsal nerve cord, pharyngeal slits, an endostyle, and a post anal tail for some period of their life.

Class: Mammalia- Distinguished from birds and reptiles by the possession of hair, 3 middle ear bones, mammary glands and a neocortex.

Order: Artiodactyla- Hoofed mammals with an even number of toes on each foot.

Family: Cervidae- Deer are the prominent mammals forming the cervidae family.

Genus: Capreolinae- New world deer that are a subfamily of deer.

Species: Odocoileus- Medium sized deer containing 2 species native to the Americas.

Where are Whitetail Deer found?

Whitetail Deer can be found in the United States, Canada, Mexico, Central America, and South America.

Cool Deer Facts

The Life of Whitetail Deer

Whitetail Deer mate in November in the northern part of their range and January and February in the southern parts of their range. The female or doe has 1-3 fawns 6 months after mating season or the rut. They spend their lives in the woods eating berries, acorns and other woodland plants. Most Whitetails only live to be 2 or 3 years old but the max life span is 20 years in the wild although few live to be past 10.


Comment Stream