The Chihuahua

Chihuahua's are the smallest breed of dogs.   


Taxonomy is a branch of science that deals with classifying organisms

You classify these organisms by the different stages by a hierarchy of classifications. The hierarchy for the classifications goes as followed from most abundant to most specific.

  1. Kingdom
  2. Phylum
  3. Class
  4. Order
  5. Family
  6. Genus
  7. Species

Every organism has a 2 part name, the Genus and the species.

Taxonomy of the Chihuahua

The Taxonomic levels of a Chihuahua.

Kingdom: Animalia- Otherwise known as the Animal Kingdom, it consists of organisms that are Eukaryotic, Multicellular, and Heterotrophic. Most of, if not all of these organisms are motile, which means they are able to move on their own.

Phylum: Chordata- Chordata refers to a spinal cord, which all of the organisms in this subsection would have needed to have had at one point in their lives.  

Class: Mammalia- Mammalia is a group which consists of mammals. Mammals are creatures that give live birth in contrast to eggs. Female mammals have mammary glands to feed their offspring. All mammals are warm blooded as well.  

Order: Carnivore- This order is for carnivores, organisms who thrive on eating meat or mainly eat meat. Many carnivores are not truly carnivores though, most eat a mixture of meat and other things like plants.

Family: Canidae- Canidae is the family of which dogs and wolves descend from. Members of this family are called canid. Canid are found on all continents of the world, even Antarctica.

Genus: Canis- Canis is consistent of wolves, domesticated dogs, coyotes, and jackals. Canis means dog in Latin.

Species:Canis lupus familiaris- This means domestic dog in Latin. Domesticated dogs were the first domesticated animal.

Origin of the Chihuahua

Chihuahuas originate from Mexico, but it is found across the world today.