Bill of Rights

The first ten amendments to the Constitution are called the Bill of Rights. These were added in 1791 and provides for our basic rights and freedoms.

Amendment 1

Defines the freedom of religion, speech, and press.

Amendment 2

Protects the right to bear arms (or own guns)

Amendment 3

Prevents the government from forcing citizens to shelter soldiers in their homes.

Amendment 4

Prevents unreasonable searches

Amendment 5

Right to a fair trial.