San Marino

Map Of San Marino

The area of San Marino Is 23.63 mi² and the size of Indiana is 36,418 mi².

Longitude And Latitude

The Longitude and Latitude of San Marino is 43.9333° N, 12.4667° E.

Physical geography

San Marino is located in Southern Europe, an enclave (landlocked) in central Italy, which it borders for 39 km. The smallest independent state by area in Europe after the Vatican City and Monaco, San Marino is dominated by the Apennines(Mountain). It has a Mediterranean climate with mild to cool winters and warm, sunny summers. Completely mountainous, only 17% of its territory is arable(used or suitable for growing crops). Several rivers flow through the country, the largest being the Ausa, the Marano, and the San Marino River.

Time Line

AD 301 - According to tradition, San Marino is founded by Marinus, a Christian stonemason seeking refuge from religious persecution on Mount Titano.

1243 - The first Captains Regent - acting as joint heads of state - are appointed.

1463 - The Pope awards the towns of Fiorentino, Montegiardino and Serravalle to San Marino. The town of Faetano joins the republic in 1464, defining its present-day borders.

1503 - Cesare Borgia occupies San Marino for several months until his death.

1599 - San Marino's constitution, which provides for a parliamentary government, is laid out in the Statutes of 1600.

1631 - Papacy recognises San Marino's independence.

1739 - Cardinal Alberoni's forces occupy San Marino. But after a civil disobendience campaign and appeals to the Vatican, the Pope restores San Marino's independence.

1797 - Napoleon invades Italy, but respects the rights of San Marino.

Independence recognised

1815 - Congress of Vienna, which follows the Napoleonic Wars, recognises San Marino's independence.

1849 - San Marino gives refuge from Austrian forces to Italian soldier and nationalist, Garibaldi.

1862 - San Marino signs customs union and treaty of friendship and cooperation with Italy.

1940-45 - World War II: Neutral San Marino hosts some 100,000 refugees from neighbouring parts of Italy.

1988 - San Marino joins the Council of Europe.

1992 - San Marino joins the United Nations.

Tax haven status

2002 - San Marino signs treaty with OECD to provide greater transparency in banking and taxation, as a result of which it is removed from the OECD's blacklist list of tax havens and placed on the "grey list" (consisting of countries that have pledged to comply with rules on sharing tax information but have yet to do so).

2008 July - UN adds San Marino's historic centre and Mount Titano to its World Heritage List of protected sites.

2008 November - Centre-right coalition wins parliamentary election.

2009 April - G20 leaders agree on tougher measures against tax havens in response to global financial crisis.

2009 May - Five senior executives at San Marino's largest bank and oldest financial institution, the Cassa di Risparmio, are arrested on suspicion of money laundering.

2009 July - In an effort to discourage tax evasion, Italy announces a tax amnesty for its citizens who repatriate assets held in offshore bank accounts.

2009 August - San Marino government says it is taking steps to ensure the country complies with OECD rules on financial transparency so as to be removed from tax haven or the grey list.


San Marino has a government called Diarchy. Diarchy is a form of government in which two individuals are joint heads of state. Most diarchs hold their position for life, passing the position to their children or other family members.


The official language of San Marino is Italian

People from San Marino

San Marino Leaders

The Leaders of San Marino are Matteo Fiorini and Gabriele Gatti.

Matteo Fiorini (Left) and Gabriele Gatti (Right)


San Marino plays football (soccer), Rugby, Motorsports, Baseball, Basketball and Volleyball.


Comment Stream