Treaty of Paris


The Treaty of Paris of Feb. 10, 1763, was signed by Great Britain, France, and Spain. Together with the treaty of Hubertusburg, it terminated seven years war. France lost its possessions on the North American continent by ceding Canada and all its territores east of the Mississippi to Great Britain, and by ceding W Louisiana to its ally, Spain, in compensation for Florida, which Spain. Yielded to Great Britain. France retained the islands of St. Pierre and Miquelon and recovered Guadeloupe and Martinique in the west indies from Great Britain, in exchange for  which it ceded Grenanda an the Grenadines to the  English



Proclamation by King George III restricted settlement west of the Appalachian Mountains. In the eyes of the British Government, the proclamation served to create a protective buffer zone between the colonists and Native Americans at the close of the French and Indian War. For the American colonists however, this act appeared to be an infringement on their rights and that led to Revolutionary War.

Sugar Act


On April 5, 1764, Parliament passed a modified version of  the sugar and Molasses Act (1733), which was about to expire. Under the molasses Act colonial merchants had been required pay a tax of six pence per gallon on the importation of oreign molasses. But because of corruption, they mostly evaded the taxes and undercut the intention of the tax.

Stamp Act


The stamp Act passed by the British Parliament on March 22, 1765. The new tax was imposed on all American colonists and required them to pay a tax on every piece of printed paper they used. Ships papers, legal documents, licenses, newspapers, other publications, and even playing cards were taxed

Comment Stream