Taxonomy of an Gray Wolf
Rocquel Mercer 4th

What is Taxonomy?

Taxonomy is finding organisms. Their are also 7 taxon levels


Taxonomy of An Gray Wolf?

Kingdom: Animalia - Meaning they are multicellular and eukaryotic. However they are not motile they are always seen in a pack (large of amount or family). Gray wolf eat other animals to survive so that makes them heterotrophic.

Phylum: Chordata - Having at least one stage of development a notochord, dorsally, and gill cleft.

Class: Mammalia - Mammals are different from repitals or birds they have three boned eyes and don't have wings, scales, or two legged or crawl.

Order: Carnivora - Mean it eats other organism.

Family: Canidae - The Canid family of gray wolf includes dogs, wolves, foxes, jackals, and many other extant and extinct dog-like mammals. A member of this family is called a canid.

Genus: Canis - Canis is a genus domestic dog, wolves, coyotes, and jackals, and many extinct species.

Canis Lupus: The gray wolf also known as a timber wolf is a native to the wilderness and remote areas of North America, Eurasia, and northern, eastern and western Africa.

Where is the Gray Wolf found?

Fun Facts?

Gray Wolfs are carnivores usually prey are animals bigger than them such as deer, elk, or moose. Also they will eat smaller mammals such as beaver, rabbit, or livestock. On average gray wolfs will eat up to 20-30 pounds of meat on one meal. Their are 5 subspecies of gray wolf in North America. Their coats can range from pure white, brown, grey, cinnamon, or black.

Comment Stream