Categories of Ecosystems

There are 3 main categories of ecosystems These categories are terrestrial, freshwater, and marine.

Terrestrial: This is an ecosystem found only on landforms.

Freshwater: a subset of Earth's aquatic ecosystems, including lakes, ponds, rivers, streams, springs, and wetlands.

Marine: The largest of Earth's aquatic ecosystems, including oceans, salt marshes, intertidal zones, estuaries, lagoons, mangroves, coral reefs, the deep sea, and the sea floor.

There are 5 levels of an ecosystem. At the top, the largest level, is the biosphere. This is the global sum of all the ecosystems. Next, the second largest, is the ecosystem. This is all of the nonliving and living organisms combined in an area. After this is the community. The community is right in the center, so the third largest and smallest. This is where all of the populations come together. Next is the second smallest, the population. This is a group of the same type of organism. Finally, there is the organism or species. This is the individual life form.

Levels of an Ecosystem

Habitat and Niche

A habitat is the place where an organism lives, supplying all the biotic and abiotic factors the organism needs to survive.

A niche is the role an organism plays in its ecosystem, how it acts and what it does.

For example, a honeybee's niche would be to pollinate flowers. The habitat of the honeybee would be somewhere tropical and heavily forested. Honeybees like meadows, gardens and woodlands.

Comment Stream