The Taxonomy of a Tiger

J Faison

What is Taxonomy?

Taxonomy is branch of science which is used for classifying organisms. Taxonomy has 7 levels known as taxon levels, each taxon level describes more about the organism than the before it. The 7 taxon levels are: Kingdom, Phylum, Class, Order, Family, Genus, and Species.

A Tiger's Taxonomy

Kingdom: Animalia, organisms in this kingdom can't make their own food so they eat other organisms to attain their energy this makes them heterotrophs. Animals in the animalia kingdom also are prokaryotic, which means that their cells contain nuclei.

Phylum: Chordata, organisms in this phylum contain spinal chords at any given point in their life.

Class: Mammalia, when at very young ages animals in this class drink milk mammary glands.

Order: Carnivora, organisms in this order obtain their energy from eating the meat of other living organisms. This order has 2 categories, and the tiger is in the aeluroidea category which contains other big cats, hyenas, and etc.

Family: Felidae, organisms in this family are found everywhere except for Australia and Antarctica.

Genus: Panthera, organisms in this genus are all big cats capable of roaring.

Species: Tigris, the tiger is the most power big cat of the world and it's also the largest. Tigers are orange with black markings and designs on their coats.

Where Can You Find a Tiger?

Sources Cited

Comment Stream