Cristiano Ronaldo Wins
2014 FIFA Ballon D'Or

FIFA Ballon D'Or:

The FIFA Ballon d'Or is an association football award given annually to the player who is considered to have performed the best in the previous year. It is awarded based on votes by coaches and captains of international teams, as well as journalists from around the world.

Candidates for 2014 Ballon D'Or Included:

From left to right: Lionel Messi, Frank Ribery, and Cristiano Ronaldo

Players years in review:

Lionel Messi

Arguably one of the greatest players to ever play the game and surely one of the best players in our generation Lionel Messi saw the Ballon D'Or pass onto Christiano Ronaldo. At the age of 26 he has already won an astounding 4 Ballon D'Ors. Recently coming back from an injury only in the last week Messi has been plagued with hamstring issues for the past months. In the 2012-2013 season Messi achieved a remarkable 75 goals in 59 games. If it wasn't for his injury that kept him from playing in several games this season he was a sure contender for the Ballon D'Or.

Frank Ribery

Frank Ribery can be said to be the most successful out of the three contenders. In the past year he helped lead Bayern Munich to a historic treble winning the Bundesliga, the UEFA Champions League, and the German Cup. It was quite a surprise and even more so for Ribery who believed that he should have won. Ahead of the FIFA ceremony, the 30 year old Frenchmen stated, "It’s been my best year, it’s been my year. If I don’t win theBallon d’Or, then I don’t see the logic."

Cristiano Ronaldo

Finally, we have Cristiano Ronaldo. It seems remarkable that it was all the way back in 2008 when Cristiano won his first Ballon D'Or but finally the day has come for him to accept his second award. Beaten out of the Ballon D'Or by Messi for the past three years this was a do or die for Cristiano as he believes that the past years were unjustly stolen from him. The award comes at a slight surprise as Cristiano had a trophyless season this past year.