Created by Ashtyn Schrimper

The Three Main Categories

The three main categories of an ecosystem are terrestrial, freshwater, and marine. Terrestrial is an ecosystem found only on landforms. Six primary terrestrial ecosystems exist: tundra, taiga, temperate deciduous forest, tropical rain forest, grassland and desert. The freshwater ecosystem is an ecosystem of Earth's aquatic ecosystems. They include lakes and ponds, rivers, streams, springs, and wetlands.The marine ecosystem is the largest of Earth's aquatic ecosystems. It includes oceans, salt marshes, intertidal zones, estuaries, lagoons, mangroves, coral reefs, the deep sea, and the sea floor.

The Levels of an ecosystem

There are four levels in an ecosystem, organism, population, community, and ecosystem. an Ecosystem is a biological community of interacting organisms and their physical environment. An organism is an individual animal, plant, or single-celled life form. A population includes all the inhabitants of a particular town, area, or country. Community is made up of all the populations that live in an area at the same time. An ecosystem is made up of one or more communities and their nonliving environment.

This is an example of a marine ecosystem.

An earthworms niche is it habitat is to provide nutrients for the soil. Earthworm's habitat is the soil.

Comment Stream