The Taxonomy of an Jaguar
1st Period
By: Andre Diggs

What is Taxonomy?

Taxonomy is the study of classifying organisms. There are 7 levels of Taxonomic classification: Kingdom, Phylum, Class, Order, Family, Genus, and Species.

The Taxonomy of a Jaguar

Kingdom- Animilia: This kingdom is has a great diversity of multicellular organisms. They are all heterotrophic, meaning that they must go out and get their own food because they cannot produce it. These organisms are also all eukaryotic.

Phylum- Chordata(Vertebrata): All organisms of this taxonomic classification all have a spinal cord.

Class- Mammailia: This is the scientific name for mammals, they are known to give birth instead of laying eggs. Mammals are endothermic with a high rate of metabolism, just like Aves. They also have hair and mammary glands.

Order- Carnivora: This order contains carnivorous organisms. This order consists of animals that have very keen senses and are usually meat eaters. Most are usually remarkable runners, taking into account that most are hunters.

Family- Felidae: These organisms are only found in South and Central America

Genus- Panthera: Meaning "Predator of all animals" Panthera is a genus within the Felidae family. It was first named and described by the German naturalist Oken in 1816.

Species- Panthera onca: Jaguars have the strongest jaws out of all the felines. They're compact and well-muscled animals. An adult jaguar is an apex predator. This means that it is at the top of it's food chain, and it cannot be preyed on.

Where can a Jaguar be found?

The Life of a Jaguar

Jaguars live in the more tropical regions of the world. They're prime when it comes to their hunting abilities. The only time they socialize with their species is to breed.

These big cats only breed during the spring, after a courtship of about 8 weeks. The jaguars have their young and they nurse them for about 1-1.5 years. A jaguar can have up to 4 kittens. Jaguars migrate year-round to maintain a comfortable climate range.

Jaguars have a wide ranged diet, ranging in deer, turtles, monkeys, cattle, fish, or just anything it can get its paws on. Jaguars usually prefer areas that are close to water so they can enjoy the water. Also to hunt for fish. A jaguar can kill its prey with a single bite.

Jaguars are solitary animals. They do not live in groups, only alone. They claim territory based on food abundancy. They start to hunt in a smaller radius the more abundant food is. If they live in an area where food is scarce, they have to travel a longer distance to find food. A jaguar's worst enemy is an anaconda, even worse than that are humans. They're the reason being why jaguars are becoming more extinct from the united states.


Comment Stream