The British Empire

IV°)  The British Empire Today

During the first half of the 20th century almost all the colonies turned into dominions, this means that they acquired political independence from England.

Today the once powerful empire has only a mere 14 islands Anguilla, Bermuda, British Antarctic Territory, British Indian Ocean Territory, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Falkland Islands, Gibraltar, Montserrat, Pitcairn Islands, St Helena, South Georgia and the Sound Sandwich Islands, the Sovereign base areas of Akrotiri and Dhekalia on Cyprus and the Turks and Caicos Islands.

Places like New Zealand and Australia still see the Queen as the monarchy, but they have their own government, and are part of the commonwealth.