Amendment #22

Two-Term Limit on Presidency                                                                             "SECTION. 1. No person shall be elected to the office of the President more than twice, and no person who has held the office of President, or acted as President, for more than two years of a term to which some other person was elected President shall be elected to the office of President more than once. But this Article shall not apply to any person holding the office of President when this Article was proposed by Congress, and shall not prevent any person who may be holding the office of President, or acting as President, during the term within which this Article becomes operative from holding the office of President or acting as President during the remainder of such term."

"SECTION. 2. This article shall be inoperative unless it shall have been ratified as an amendment to the Constitution by the legislatures of three-fourths of the several States within seven years from the date of its submission to the States by the Congress.         (Passed by Congress March 21, 1947.)"


Presidential term limit

Washington steps down after two terms of being president in 1796. Then Thomas Jefferson after being president for two terms leaves in 1809. Theodore Roosevelt Having served two terms during which he guided the country through the Depression, Franklin Delano Roosevelt remains popular among the voting public and runs for a third term and then later for a fourth term and for some reason he dies. In 1947 congress passes the twenty- second amendment to limit the presidency. Later in 1951 the amendment is Ratified.