Wreck it Ralph

Joseph Campbell identified various stages to a hero's journey. I am going to apply these stages to the movie Wreck it Ralph.

Home Culture

The home culture is what the protagonist thinks is normal. Ralph's thinks that living in the dump is normal.

Call to Adventure

The call to adventure is when the protagonist questions his world and feels restlessness. Ralph is tired of being the bad guy and of everyone ignoring him.

Refusal of the Call

The hero feels the fear of the unknown and tries to turn away from the adventure, however briefly. Alternately, another character may express the uncertainty and danger ahead. Ralph enters the game Hero's Duty.

Supernatural Aid

The supernatural aid usually provides the hero with training, equipment, or advice that will help them on their journey. The tapper points Ralph in the right direction.

Crossing the First Threshold

The hero leaves their old world behind and enter a new and unfamiliar land. Ralph enters the unfamiliar game of Hero's Duty.

Road of Trials

The hero is tested and the outcome reveals a part of them that they didn't know was there. Ralph helps Vanellope create a cart, which shows him that he can actuallt make something and not destroy everything he touches.

Meeting a Soul Mate

The hero meets their soul mate, who helps them to see the possibilities of the journey. Vanellope helps to encourage Ralph to not give up.


Ralph is tested and sorts out allegiances in the special world.

The Ultimate Goal

When Ralph finds out that Vanellope is a Queen he knows that she needs to race in order for her to regain her rightful position.

Refusal to go Home

Instead of going home when he is threated by King Candy, Ralph saves Felix and then gets his help to fix the cart for Vanellope to race.

The Rescue

Ralph sacrifices himself in order to save Vanellope since she is a glitch and can't leave the game.  

Comment Stream