Human Skeleton Anatomy - 10 Facts About the Human Skeleton

human anatomy skeleton

The human anatomy skeleton includes all the joints and the bones in the body. Each bone in the human body is a complex structure that is made up of many cells and minerals and protein fibres. The skeletonacts as a support and protection for the soft tissues that makes up the whole human body. The skeleton system provides the attachment points for the muscle in the body and helps in the movement of the body parts. The human skeleton is so beautifully designed that it cannot be replaced by the Artificial Human Skeleton and the Artificial Human Bones can never take place of the natural skeleton structure we have in the body.

The skeleton system of the average human adult body has 206 individual bones. These bones are divided into two major divisions –The Axial Skeleton And The Appendicular Skeleton. The axial skeleton has 80 bones in the Skull, Hyoid, Ribs, Auditory Ossicles, Sternum and Vertebral column and runs along the body’s midline axis. The Appendicualr skeleton has 126 bones in the Upper and lower limbs, Pelvic girdle and Pectoral girdle.

The longest bone in the human body is thigh bone and the smallest one is the bone inside the ear. The skeleton system of human body holds everything together. The 10 major facts in relation to the human skeleton anatomy and physiology are:

1. The babies at the time of birth have 350 bones while the adult has 203. When we grow old, many bones fuse together. For example the cranium and the pelvis fuse together as we grow old but are separate bones when we are born.
2. The spine is the base of the human skeleton and hold up all the bone. The spine has 33 small bones and is called vertebrate. No wonder it is also called the backbone as it acts the major bone of the human body.
3. The largest part of the human skeleton is the femur, that is the upper part of the thigh, and the smallest part is the stapes bone.
4. The human skeleton has the 20% of the overall body weight.
5. The skeleton is not only the framework of the whole body but it also produces the two major cells of the body, the red and the white blood cells. The skeleton also stores the minerals and protects all the vital organs of the body.
6. The different types of bones are called the sesamoid bones, that is, all the long, short and flat bones.
7. The skeleton has two types of bones. The compact ones and the trabecular ones also called the spongy bones. The compact bones accounts for the 80% of the total bone mass.
8. The skeletons have joints where the two bones are connected and have categorizing joints which provide mobility.
9. The types of joints in skeleton are fibrous joints, cartilage joints and synovial joints (which are not directly joined).

10. The bones are further classified on the basis of mobility. Synarthrosis that has little or no mobility. The Amphiarthrosis which have slight mobility and the Diarthrosis which are freely movable.