The Sun

By: Allie O'Brien


The Solar Atmosphere consists of three parts: the photosphere, the chromosphere, and the corona.

  • The Photosphere is the region in the solar atmosphere from which most of the visible light escapes into space. In other words, it is the light that is visible to the naked eye.
  • The Chromosphere is the layer in the solar atmosphere between the photosphere and the corona. It's function is to emit white light, and it can be seen during a solar eclipse.
  • The Solar Corona is the hottest region of the solar atmosphere, reaching temperatures around a few million degrees Kelvin. Because of these high temperatures, radioactive waves are produced in the corona and can be observed in X-Rays.


The solar interior is made up with layers that dwell within one another. The interior consists of the core, the radiative zone, and the convection zone.

  • The Solar Core is the center of the sun. It is where the solar energy is produced. Without the energy of the core, we would not feel warmth or light during a Summer day.
  • The radiative zone is where the energy travels [outwards] through, and photons, small light particles, carry energy.
  • The energy continues its journey outward through the convection zone through the rapid motion of gasses. Granulation occurs here, which is when gas mixes and bubbles, much like boiling water.


A coronal mass ejection is a large volume of high-energy gas released from the Sun’s corona. If a coronal mass ejection was to hit Earth, it would melt our transformers, we would lose power, and recovery time would be extremely long.

Comment Stream