By Amarle Blakney
period 1

What is Taxonomy

Taxonomy- Is the study of classifying organisms. The 7 levels of taxonomy are Kingdom, Phylum,Class,Order, Family, Genus, Species.

What is a Cheetah Taxonomy?

A cheetah taxonomy is a Kingdom-Animalia. These organisms are multicellular and eukaryotic. Most of them are motile, which means that they can move on there on without having any kind of help. This organism must eat living things in order to survive. they are heterotrophic.

Phylum-the cheetah belongs to phylum of chordata because it has a backbone.

Class-Mammalia-Mammals are a clade of endothermic amniotes distinguished from reptiles and birds by the possession of hair, three middle ear bones, mammary glands, and a neocortex, these organisms live in Arctic region. Cheetahs are mostly found in sub-Saharan Africa and in eastern and southern African parks. Some of the animals can still be found in southern Algeria, northern Niger and Iran. They like dry, open grasslands where they can pick up speed to kill prey.

Order-Carnivora-This order contains, Bears, raccoons, ringtails, coyotes, and foxes, however, feed on a variety of foods, including insects, fruits, nuts, grain, and other plant materials, as well as flesh. these organisms live in the forests, deserts, mountains, grasslands, scrublands, tundra. They feed on mostly meat living organisms.

Family- Felidae- they are found in North America from northern Mexico to southern Canada.

Genus-Acinonyx-is a genus within the cat family. The only living species of this genus, the cheetah, A. jabots, occurs in open grasslands of Africa and Asia.

species-Jubatus-is a large feline inhabiting most of Africa and parts of Iran, lives mainly in Iran's vast central desert in fragmented pieces of remaining suitable habitat.



The fastest land animal in the world, the cheetah is a marvel of evolution. The cheetah's slender, long-legged body is built for speed. Cheetahs are tan in color with black spots all over their bodies.

They can also be distinguished from other big cats by their smaller size, spotted coats, small heads and ears and distinctive "tear stripes" that stretch from the corner of the eye to the side of the nose.

DIET-Cheetahs eat mainly gazelles, wildebeest calves, impalas and smaller hoofed animals.

POPULATION-In 1900, there were over 100,000 cheetahs across their historic range. Today, an estimated 9,000 to 12,000 cheetahs remain in the wild in Africa. In Iran, there are around 200 cheetahs living in small isolated populations.

FROM- Cheetahs were found throughout Africa and Asia from South Africa to India. They are now confined to parts of eastern, central and southwestern Africa and a small portion of Iran.

Comment Stream