By Cheyenne Davis

What is a tissue?:

A tissue is a collection of cells in an organism that have similar structures and functions.

What are the four types of tissues and what are their functions?:

The four types of tissues are:

Nervous- is composed of specialized cells which not only receive stimuli but also conduct impulses to and from all parts of the body. Nerve cells or neurons are long and string-like.

Connective- performs a variety of functions including support and protection.

Epithelial- covers the body surface and forms the lining for most internal cavities. The major function of epithelial tissue includes protection, secretion, absorption, and filtration.

Muscular- There are three types of muscle tissue: skeletal, smooth, and cardiac. Skeletal muscle is a voluntary type of muscle tissue that is used in the contraction of skeletal parts. Smooth muscle is found in the walls of internal organs and blood vessels. It is an involuntary type. The cardiac muscle is found only in the walls of the heart and is involuntary in nature.


The epithelial is classified into simple epithelial and stratified epithelial. Connective tissues are classified into three sections: connective tissue proper, fluid connective tissues, and supporting connective tissues. Nervous tissue only contains two types of cells which are nervous and neuroglia. Muscular tissue is classified by skeletal muscle tissue, cardiac muscle tissue, and smooth muscle tissue.

Specialization of Epithelial:

Epithelial cells can be specialized for the movement of fluids over epithelial surface which provides protection and lubrication, the movement of fluids through the epithelium to control permeability, or the production of secretions that provide physical protection.


Nervous - Found in the brain and spinal cord.

Muscle - Can be found in ANY muscle in the body.

Epithelial - Found all over the body.

Connective - Primarily found in the joints.

Comment Stream