The Rock Cycle

The rock cycle is how rocks change from one type to another. The three types of rocks are sedimentary, metamorphic, and igneous. This proccess includes heat, pressure, cooling, weathering, and lots of time.

Weathering and Erosion

Weathering is the process of rain, snow, wind, and other forms of weather break down a rock into sediment. Erosion is the process of moving materials and the surface is worn down and moved together.

TRansport and deposition

Transport is a part of the erosion process when sediment and other materials are being moved. Deposition is the geological process in which sediments, soil, and rocks are added to a landform or land mass. Wind, ice, and water, as well as sediment flowing via gravity, transport previously eroded sediment, which, at the loss of enough kinetic energy in the fluid, is deposited, building up layers of sediment.

Sedimentary Rocks

Sedimentary rocks are types of rock that are formed by the deposition of material under water at the Earth's surface. Sedimentation is the name for processes that causes sediment to settle and make a sedimentary rock.

Metamorphic Rocks

Metmorphic rock is rock that was once either igneous, sedimentary, or even an older metamorphic rock but has changed to metamorphic under heat, pressure, or things like burial, without becoming a liquid.


Magma is hot fluid/semifluid material below or within the Earth's crust. This is how igenous rocks will be formed by cooling later on in the proccess.

Igneous Rock

Igneous rock is formed through the cooling and solidification of magma or lava. Igneous rock may form with or without crystallization, either below the surface as intrusive rocks or on the surface as extrusive rocks.