Burma-Myanmar Conflict

The conflicts in Myanmar (aka Burma) begin in 1948, after British colonial control of the country ended. Ever since, several ethnic groups and the government have clashed. Myanmar consists of several ethnic groups, each with their own state within the country. These ethnic groups demand for equality especially in the "protection of ethnic culture, language, and religion, the devolution of tangible executive, legislative, and judicial power to the ethnic states within a true federal union, and a democratic form of government" (conflictmap.org). Ethnic groups soon found out that they would not be able to secede from the nation and in response, sought war. While the government was in pursuit of religious dominance throughout the country, ethnic groups fought for religious independence and equal rights. The military is the sole dominant power, superior in weapons and in numbers. To combat the ethnic insurgents the Tatmadaw (Myanmar military) applied the "'Four Cuts' counterinsurgency strategy which attempts to deny the ethnic insurgents access to food, funding, information, and recruits" (conflictmap.org)


The major non-Burman ethnic groups are the Chin, Kachin, Shan, Karen, and Mon.

In recent years, the government has been establishing democratic reforms and making peace with several ethnic groups. However, one ethnic group, the Kachin, continue to fight. During peace talks and cease-fire negotiations, the Myanmar military had allegedly bombed the Kachin headquarters in Laiza, killing several civilians and violating the laws of war, according to the Human Rights Watch. These laws state that civilians and civilian structures cannot be targeted and that an attack has to be targeted to a specific military objective. Fortunately, peace talks and cease fire negotiations have been successful among other ethnic groups.


Comment Stream