The God of the underworld

-Hades is the son of the titans Cronos and Rhea He had three sisters, Demeter, Hestia, and Hera.

-He also had two brothers, Zeus and Poseidon.

-Hades obtained his wife/queen persephone, through trickery and violent abduction.   

-He was passive not evil. His usual role was keeping balance.

-He strictly forbade his subjects to leave his domain and would become quite enraged when anyone tried to leave, or if someone tried to steal the souls from his realm.

-His wrath was equally terrible for anyone who tried to cheat death or otherwise crossed him.

-Hades was a fearsome figure to those still living.

-They averted their faces when sacrificing to him.

-He was also known as Pluto in Roman.


Hades was devoured by Kronos as soon as he was born, along with four of his siblings. Zeus later caused the Titan to disgorge them, and together they drove the Titan gods from olympus and locked them away in the pit of Tartaros. When the three victorious brothers then drew lots for the division of the cosmos, Hades received the third portion, the dark dismal realm of the underworld, as his domain.


-His dog cerberus is a multi-headed dog, or "hellhound" with a serpent's tail, a mane of snakes, and a lion's claws. He guards the entrance of the underworld to prevent the dead from escaping and the living from entering.

(Stop video at 2 min)


Hades symbol was his helmet, which helped keep him invisible.

Comment Stream