TACKK Vocab Project

Created By: Michael Skotynsky

Foreign Policy

A government's strategy in dealing with other nations.

"The World Is Flat"

Can easily see and communicate with others across the globe.


The profession, activity, or skill of managing international relations, typically by a country's representatives abroad.

Commander In Chief

A head of state or officer in supreme command of a country's armed forces.

War Powers Act

A US law passed in 1973 which allows Congress to limit the President’s use of military forces. It states that the President must tell Congress within 48 hours if he sends armed forces anywhere, and Congress must give approval for them to stay there for more than 90 days. The Act was passed in spite of a veto by President Richard Nixon.


An accredited diplomat sent by a country as its official representative to a foreign country.


The official residence or offices of an ambassador.


The Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) is one of the principal intelligence-gathering agencies of the United States federal government.


National Security Council. National Security Council. A committee in the executive branch that advises the president on matters relating to domestic, military, and foreign security. The NSC also directs the operation of the Central Intelligence Agency.

Senate/House Foreign Relations Committees

The Senate Foreign Relations Committee has oversight over the foreign policy agencies of the U.S. government, including the State Department, the U.S. Agency for International Development, the Millennium Challenge Corporation, and the Peace Corps. The Committee reviews and considers all diplomatic nominations and international treaties, as well as legislation relating to U.S. foreign policy.


The North Atlantic Treaty Organization, also called the [North] Atlantic Alliance, is an intergovernmental military alliance based on the North Atlantic Treaty which was signed on 4 April 1949. The organization constitutes a system of collective defense whereby its member states agree to mutual defense in response to an attack by any external party. NATO's headquarters are in Brussels, Belgium, one of the 28 member states across North America and Europe, the newest of which, Albania and Croatia, joined in April 2009. An additional 22 countries participate in NATO's Partnership for Peace program, with 15 other countries involved in institutionalized dialogue programs.

Warsaw Pact Countries

A military alliance of communist nations in eastern Europe. Organized in 1955 in answer to NATO, the Warsaw Pact included Bulgaria, Czechoslovakia, East Germany, Hungary, Poland, Romania, and the Soviet Union.

Comment Stream