Beyond the Solar System
Carlos T. Travis D. Kevin I. Vladimir S. 3/25/15 5th

Voyager 1 & 2

    Voyagers 1 and 2 were meant to explore beyond the solar system (or planets) to investigate atmospheres, magnetospheres, satellites and the ring systems of Uranus and Saturn. But, surprisingly, Voyager 2 was launched before Voyager 1! Which, is kind of weird if you think about the order of numbers, chronologically.

     Both of them have been travelling for 37 years and are used to explore the ring systems of Uranus and Saturn to see what it's made of (which we currently know is made of ice, rock, and dust). The Voyager 1 is currently 19,542,582,217 KM from Earth (1.2,143,200,000 miles) and counting. Voyager 2 is currently 16124443 KM from earth (10019300 miles).

     Voyager 1 is currently in interstellar space and Voyager 2 is in the Heliosheath the outermost layer of the heliosphere. V2 is currently the only spacecraft to have visited outer planets, Uranus and Neptune.

Kuiper Belt

    The Kuiper Belt is like the Asteroid belt but beyond Neptune and where part Pluto's orbit takes place. A recent discovery states that some of the aimlessly floating objects are a variety of colors such as black, white, red and blue. Scientists and astronomers predict that the asteroids, in this belt have layers made of different materials, such as the planets. They think that these asteroids have a thin, but rocky exterior a less processed shelf layer of red organic material a blue- white "mantle" layer of water-ice and a core made of rock.

The Mysterious Oort Cloud

The unknown Oort cloud is a cloud of non-moving comets over 1,500,000,000,000 miles from the Sun. It's so far away that other stars have more gravity over them than the Sun! It was first theorized in 1950 by a Dutch astronomer by the name of Jan Oort, whom proposed that there was a sphere of rocks and ice beyond the Kuiper Belt where the short term comets came from. Little is known about the Oort Cloud as it is still hasn't been visited by human probes.

The Dwarf Planets

     In our solar system only five known dwarf planets are here, but i will only be including four because Ceres is in the asteroid belt and we are doing beyond Neptune so we are only doing Pluto,Makemake,Eris,Haumea.

     All of the Dwarf planets I am including are composed of ice and rock,but they do have more minerals. Some dwarf planets have moons such as Pluto's moon Charon,but most of them do not have any satellites(Moons). Dwarf planets are classified by these things,they are classified by more,but these are the main Classifications.

1. Have not cleared orbit of smaller debris.

2. Have enough mass to consist of a nearly spherical shape.

This is a picture of Eris, Ceres, Pluto, and Pluto's moon Charon compared to Earth.