The Four Types



Connective tissue is responsible for providing structural support for the tissues and organs of the body. This mechanical function is important in maintaining the form of the body, organs and tissues.

Epithelial tissues line the cavities and surfaces of structures throughout the body. Basically is covers and protects the body.

The main function of the muscle tissue is to relax and contrast so as to bring about movement and mechanical work in various parts of the body. Muscle tissues are divided into three parts which are smooth muscle tissue, skeleton muscle tissue and cardiac muscle tissue.

The functional unit of the nervous tissue is the neuron, or nerve cell, which has a unique structure that is specialized to transmit signals called nerve impulses. A nerve cell consists a body and two or more extensions called dendrites and axons, which may be as long as a meter in humans.


Connective- Bone, Cartilage, Dense Connective Tissue, Loose connective tissue, and blood

Muscle- Cardiac muscle, smooth muscle, and skeletal muscles.

Epithelial- Simple ephithelia, stratified epithelia, and glandular epithelia

Nervous- Neurons, and spinal cord

Specializations of Epithelia

Except for glandular epithelia, epithelia cells fir together to form continous sheets Neighboring cells are bound together at many points by cell junctions. the membranes always have one free surface or edge. This so called apical surface is exposed to the body's exterior or to the cavity of an internal organ. The lower surface of an epithelium rests on a basement membrane, a structureless material secreted by the cells.


Epithelial- The skin

Connective- bones

Nervous- Spinal cord

Muscle- The heart

Comment Stream