Ancient Chinese Culture

The Tang, Sui, and Song Dynasties

The Tang Dynasty had three main leaders: Taizong, Wu Zhou, and Xuanzong. They believed in a centralized government. The Tang held power between 608-907.

The Sui Dynasty's two prominent leaders were Wendi, also known as Yang Jian, and Yang Di. They had the same type of government as the Sui Dynasty but also had a bureaucracy. The Sui Dynasty lasted between the years of 581-618.

The Song Dynasty had no documented rulers. They followed in the Sui and Tang Dynasty's footsteps by also having a bureaucracy. This era lasted between 960-1279.