Wreck It Ralph

Joseph Campbell identified 17 stages of a heroes journey. I am going to apply these stages to the movie Wreck It Ralph.

Home Culture

The home culture is where the protagonist believes is a normal place/home. His normal home is living in a pile of bricks at the dump.

Call to Adventure

A normal occurrence motivates the protagonist to find a new world outside of their comfort place. Ralph leaves to get a medal to prove Glen wrong.

Refusal to Call

The hero feels the fear of the unknown and tries to turn away from the adventure, however briefly. Alternately, another character may express the uncertainty and danger ahead. He leaves his own game and enters Hero's Duty.

Supernatural Aid

The hero comes across a seasoned traveler of the worlds who gives him or her training, equipment, or advice that will help on the journey. Or the hero reaches within to a source of courage and wisdom. Ralph uses Markowski's body armor to help him get a medal.

Crossing the First Threshold

At the end of Act One, the hero commits to leaving the Ordinary World and entering a new region or condition with unfamiliar rules and values. Ralph enters Sugar Rush alone.

Roads of Trials

The hero is tested and sorts out allegiances in the Special World. Ralph helps Vanellope create, revealing that he actually is a good persona and cares about Vanellope.

Meeting a Soul Mate

The hero and newfound allies prepare for the major challenge in the Special world. Vanellope encourages Ralph to continue moving forward

Comment Stream