The Taxonomy of a Leopard
By: Ashley Pridgen

What is Taxonomy?

Taxonomy is the branch of science that classifies organisms. Taxonomy has 7 levels, which are referred to as taxon levels. Each level describes more about the organism than the previous level. The levels are Kingdom, Phylum, Class, Order, Family, Genus and Species.

Taxonomy of a Leopard

Kingdom: Animalia, organisms in this kingdom are not able to make their own food. Therefore, they have to feed off of other organisms to attain energy. This makes them heterotrophs, they are also eukaryotic because they have a nucleus.

Phylum: Chordata, organisms in this phylum have a notochord.

Class: Mammalia, organisms in this class normally have the body covered in hair and nourish the young with milk from the mammary glands.

Order: Carnivora, organisms in this order receive their energy from feeding off other live organisms. The order of carnivora has two categories, in which leopards fall under the aeluroidea category.

Family: Felidae, organisms in this family are found all over the world except for Antarctica and Australia.

Genus: Panthera, organisms in this genus are mostly large cats that have the capability of roaring.

Species: Pardus, leopards are usually found in forests and have a yellowish-brown coat with black spots.

Where Can You Spot a Leopard?

Sources Cited

Comment Stream