City Web Map Project

Montgomery is the second largest city in the state with a population of 201,568 according to the 2000 census. The city, which was incorporated on December 3, 1819, is located southeast of the center of the state.

Montgomery functions as a Mayor-Council system of government. The Council is represented by nine members elected to serve a four-year term. The city is a full-service governmental agency that prides itself on providing quality service to residents and businesses.

Montgomery is nationally known for its many historic/cultural landmarks and events such as the Alabama State Capitol, Dexter Avenue King Memorial Church, First White House of the Confederacy, Montgomery Bus Boycott, Hank Williams Memorial, Alabama War Memorial and Alabama Shakespeare Theater. The city attracted the first electric street car system and Wright Brothers (Orville & Wilbur) first school for powered flight. Today, Montgomery is the home of both Maxwell and Gunter Air Force Bases.

The city consists of several public schools: thirty-six elementary, twelve junior/middle and eight high schools. Additionally, Montgomery has a total of thirty-seven private schools.

The city is the home of several public and private colleges, as well as military schools. Montgomery’s fifteen colleges, universities and military schools provide world-class educational opportunities.

In 2004, Montgomery landed one of the biggest economic development projects when Hyundai Motors Manufacturing Alabama built its $1.4 billion automotive plant. The Montgomery location became the first assembly and manufacturing plant in the United States. It employs over 3,000 team members and currently produces the next generation Sonata sedan and Santa Fe sport utility vehicle.

City Fact
Founded-1819 latitude-32-22-0"n
Area-155.4sp miles
Mayor-Todd Strange