The Taxonomy of a Zebra

By. Madison Wall

What is Taxonomy?

Taxonomy is the science of naming organisms and assigning them to groups. There are seven levels of Taxonomy; Kingdom, Phylum, Class, Order, Family, Genus, Species. They are each more specific than the last.

Taxonomic Levels of a Zebra:

Kingdom- Animalia: The organisms in the Anamalia Kingdom are multicellular and eukaryotic. They eat other organisms to survive. They are motile, meaning they can move independently.

Phylum- Chordata: The organisms in the Chordata Phylum have a spinal cord and vertabrate during their life.

Class- Mammalia: This class consists of all mammals. The most common kind of mammals are eutherians. They have a long lasting relationship between mother and child.

Order- Perissodactyla: This order contains mammals with hoofed feet. They typically live in Africa, Asia, and America, in limited populations.

Family- Equidae: These organisms are the taxonomic family of horses.

Genus- Equus: Mammals in the family Equus include Zebras, donkey, and horses. It has a number of extinct species known from fossils.

Species- Plains Zebra: They are also known as the Common Zebra. It is the most common species of Zebras. They are the most geographically species of Zebras.


Interesting Facts

Their Scientific Name is: Equus quagga.

The Family name is: Equidae.

Habitat is: Grassland

Life span: 25 Years

Diet: Herbivore


Comment Stream