The Taxonomy of an Fox
by Ke'Asia Fox

What is Taxonomy?

Taxonomy is the science of naming organisms and assigning them to groups.

Seven Levels of Taxonomic Classification:

Kingdom, Phylum, class, order, family, genus, and species.

Kingdom: Animalia- animals are multicellular, eukaryotic organisms of the kingdom.   

Phylum: Chordata- animals possessing a notochord, a hollow dorsal nerve cord, pharyngeals.

Class: Mammalia- mammals are a clade of endothermic amniotes distinguished from reptiles and birds by the possession of hair, three middle ear bones, mammary glands, and a neocortex.

Order: Carnivora- is a diverse order that includes over 280b species a placental mammals.

Family: Canidae- the biological family Canidae is a lineage of carnivorans that includes dogs, wolves,  foxes, jackets, and many other extant and extinct dog like mammals.

Genus: Vulpes- is a genus of the Canidae.

Species: Vulpes- the members of this genus are referred to as true foxes, meaning they form a proper clade.

Where is the Red Fox found?

The life of an Red Fox

  The Red Fox lives all around the world in many different habitats like the forest, grasslands, mountains, and deserts. They also adapt well to the human environments such as farms and even large communities.

  Red Foxes are very dangerous hunters who feed on rabbits, birds, and other small animals. Some may eat fruit, vegetables, fish, frogs, and even worms. If a Red Fox living with a human, they will eat on garbage and pet food.

  A Red Fox will use its tail as a warm cover in cold weather and as a signals for other foxes. In the winter, foxes meet to mate. The female typically gives birth to a little of 2 to 12 pups. At birth a red fox are actually brown or gray. A new red coat usually grows in by the end of the first month, but some red foxes are golden, reddish brown, silver, or even black. Red Foxes are also hunted for sport and are sometimes killed as pest or carrying rabies.

Comment Stream