Earth's atmosphere


Earth layers are divided into 5 sections :Exosphere, Thermosphere , Mesosphere , Stratosphere ,  and Troposphere . Each layer comes with many different features.


The exosphere is the layer above the thermosphere. The part that can be seen from exosphere is called the "geocorona". The outer region of the upper atmosphere. Exosphere is the outermost region of a planet's atmosphere where molecules densities are low .


The greek name for thermosphere is "thermo".Its size makes the thermosphere one of the most dynamic layers of the Earth's atmosphere and thus, the only object that can make it to this layer is a space shuttle. The lower half of the thermosphere, the temperature increases very quickly with altitude.


The mesosphere is the third layer in the atmosphere surrounding the earth. It literally means middle sphere. The minimum temperature in mesosphere is -90ºC or -130ºF.


Air temperature slowly increases with height in the stratosphere, in contrast with the troposphere where the temperature rapidly decreases with height. It extends to some 50 km above the ground level.The temperature rises as we move up. Reason for this increase in temperature is absorption of harmful ultraviolet rays of the sun by the ozone molecules.


The troposphere is the lowest layer of Earth's atmosphere and site of all weather on Earth.The troposphere contains 99% of the water vapor in the atmosphere.The troposphere is bonded on the top by a layer of air called the tropopause, which separates the troposphere from the stratosphere, and on bottom by the surface of the Earth.

Comment Stream