Jelly Fish
by : Dajah Harris

What is Taxonomy ?

Taxonomy is the study of classifying organisms. There are 7 taxon levels, each level is different. The levels are Kingdom, Phylum, Class, Order, Family, Genus, and Species.

Each Organism has two part to its name: species and genus.


Taxonomic Levels of a Jelly Fish

Kingdom - Animalia :These organisms are multicelluar and eukaryotic. Most of the species can move independently. These animals have to eat other organisms to survive, which makes them heterotrophic.

Phylum - Cnidaria : These organisms are mostly found in marine environments. They have specialized cells that they use mainly for capturing prey. They have two basic body forms: Swimming medusae and sessile polyps.  

Class - Scyphozoa is another name referred as the "true jellyfish". The name comes from the greek word skyphos. Skyphos means a kind of drinking cup and alluding to the cup shape of the organism.

Order - Semae0stomeae are an order of large jelly characterized by four long, frilly oral arms flanking their quadrate mouths. They usually possess eight tentacles; four are per-radical and four are inter-radical

Family - Ulmaridae is a family of a jelly fish.

Genus - Aurelia s a feminine given name from the Latin family name  Aurelius.

Species - Aurelia aurita is also called the moon jelly. All jellyfish in the genus are closely related



Comment Stream